UDC 323(497.5-3 Slavonija):341.382(497.1)
Biblid: 0543-3657, 67 (2016)
Vol. 67, No 1161, pp. 32-49

Review paper
Received: 03 Nov 2015
Accepted: 03 Dec 2015


Gogić Ognjen (), ognjen.gogic@gmail.com

After Croatia retook control over previously Serb-held areas of Western Slavonia and Krajina in military offensives “Flash” and “Storm” launched in May and August of 1995, Eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Sirmium remained as the only part of Croatian territory under Serbian control. While in autumn of 1995 the international community was focused on achieving a negotiated settlement for Bosnia, the Zagreb’s priority was to reintegrate Eastern Slavonia into Croatian constitutional framework. As it became clear that “the road to Dayton necessarily lead through Eastern Slavonia”, President Clinton’s administration sought to find a solution for Eastern Slavonia, which would be satisfactory to Croatian President Tudjman in order to get his support for agreement on Bosnia. The final agreement on the peaceful reintegration of Eastern Slavonia was reached between Presidents Tudjman and Milosevic in Dayton, whereas the formal document (Erdut Agreement) was signed on 12 November in Zagreb and Erdut.

Keywords: RSK, Z-4, “Operation Storm”, Eastern Slavonia, Erdut Agreement, Dayton